Wednesday, June 19, 2024

When does the summer transfer window close?

Must read

The 2023 summer transfer window promises to be another busy period, with big names such as Lionel Messi (Paris Saint-Germain), Jude Bellingham (Borussia Dortmund) and Christian Pulisic (Chelsea) among the stars who are on the move.

Most leagues in Europe opened their windows in early July, while the general deadline for closing is Sept. 1 rather than Aug. 31 due to possible midweek fixtures in the Premier League, Serie A and Ligue 1. The winter window will close on Thursday, Feb. 1 for the same reason.

Clubs in all leagues will still be able to sign players as free agents after the deadline, and as long as they are not officially attached to any club on Friday, Sept. 1.

Deals can be agreed between leagues with different transfer windows. They will be officially completed if or when the signing club’s window is open.

Check out all the latest major moves

All dates are correct as listed by FIFA’s Transfer Window Calendar.

Premier League transfer window

The transfer market reopened on Wednesday, June 14, though most international deals and free transfers did not go through until July 1.

The Premier League will close the transfer window on Friday, Sept. 1 at 11 p.m. BST / 6 p.m. ET.

Check out all the latest Premier League transfers

The winter window will run from Jan. 1 to Feb. 1.

LaLiga transfer window

The LaLiga window officially opened on Monday, July 3 and will close at 11 p.m. BST / 6 p.m. ET on Friday, Sept. 1.

The winter window will run from Jan. 2 to Feb. 1.

Serie A transfer window

The market opened on Saturday, July 1 and will close on Friday, Sept. 1, expected at 7 p.m. BST / 2 p.m. ET.

The winter window runs from Jan. 2 to Feb. 1.

Bundesliga transfer window

The window opened as of Saturday, July 1 and will close at 5 p.m. BST / midday ET on Friday, Sept. 1.

The winter window runs from Jan. 1 to Feb. 1.

Ligue 1 transfer window

Ligue 1 opened its transfer window on Saturday, July 1 and will close it on Friday, Sept. 1 at 10 p.m. BST / 5 p.m. ET, with the winter window running from Jan. 1 to Feb. 1.

Women’s Super League transfer window

The WSL summer window opened on June 26 and runs through to Sept. 14.

MLS transfer windows

Major League Soccer’s secondary window opened on Wednesday, July 5 and close on Wednesday, August 2.

OTHER TRANSFER DEADLINES
Australia:
Sept. 12
China: July 31
Mexico: Sept. 13
Portugal: Sept. 22
Saudi Arabia: Sept. 7
Turkey: Sept. 15

MORE:

All transfers | Transfer Talk blog

Latest article