Tuesday, June 18, 2024

The NFL International Series | NFL Football Operations

Must read

The NFL International Series

The NFL launched the International Series on October 28, 2007, when the New York Giants faced off against the Miami Dolphins at London’s Wembley Stadium. The Giants won 13-10 en route to the franchise’s third Super Bowl title. From 2007-12, Wembley Stadium hosted one regular-season NFL game each season.

In 2012, the Jacksonville Jaguars agreed to play one home game at Wembley Stadium each year from 2013-16. The Jaguars would later extend the agreement through 2020. The NFL held two International Series games at Wembley Stadium in 2013 and three in 2014 and 2015.

The International Series expanded in 2016 with the league’s return to Mexico City’s Estadio Azteca. That season also included the first of three games at London’s Twickenham Stadium.

In 2019, the Oakland Raiders and Chicago Bears played the first game at London’s brand-new Tottenham Hotspur Stadium, which will host two games each season for 10 years as part of an agreement with the NFL. In total, the International Series featured four games in 2016, five games in 2017, three games in 2018, and five games in 2019.

The International Series was suspended in 2020 due to the global COVID-19 pandemic but resumed in 2021 with two games at Tottenham Hotspur Stadium. Through the 2022 season, the NFL has played 35 regular season games in London and four in Mexico City.

Latest article