Monday, June 24, 2024 – General Information

Must read

European Individual Championships this year will be held in Linz. It was played for the first time in 1958 in Budapest.

Last European Individual Championships was held as a part of the multi sport 2022 European Championships held in Munich. The participating sports of the multi-sport European Championships came together in Geneva on 22 November 2023, to confirm their long-term commitment to the new generation event and discuss how to build on the success of Munich 2022 over the next three editions (2026, 2030, 2034).

In this edition Seven European sports were part of the European Championships: volleyball, canoe, cycling, rowing, climbing, table tennis, triathlon.

In 2022 Sofia POLCANOVA was the first player since 2010 and the 16th in total (13 women and 3 men) who won 3 individual medals in one European Championships (gold in singles and doubles and bronze in mixed). Record holder on this is Zoya RUDNOVA, who won 3 medals in 1968, 1970 and 1974. PASKAUSKIENE and RUDNOVA are the only ones who won 3 individual medals in more than one EC.

Germany has won 3 medals in Women’s singles in Munich. The last time this happened in Women’s singles was in 1960, when the Hungarians Eva KOCZIAN, Ilona KEREKES and Saroltha MALTHE stood on the podium together.

All time leader in the medal standings of the European Championship individual 1958-2022 is Timo BOLL with 13 gold and 4 bronze (he never lost a final).

Second is the best women in European Individual history: Ruta PASKAUSKIENE with 7 gold, 2 silver and 9 bronze. Elisabeta SAMARA is now the one with the highest number of medals of all participants in this European Championships with 5 gold, 3 silver and 6 bronze medals.

Sofia POLCANOVA is only the 6th woman to win singles and doubles in 1 year. Petrissa SOLJA did this in 2021, and before this was don by Valentina POPOVA (1980 and 1984), Nicole STRUSE (1996), Jill HAMMERSLEY (1976) and Judit MAGOS (1974).

Seven men were able to win these two titles in one year: Timo BOLL being by far the best, he did this no less than 4 times (2002, 2007, 2008 and 2010).

Zoltan BERCZIK (1960), Kjell JOHANSSON (1966), Gabor GERGELY (1978), Mikael APPELGREN (1988) and Vladimir SAMSONOV (1998) are the other ones.



  Title Sponsor


Major Sponsor


 Major Sponsor


Official ball Supplier



Latest article